DEUTSCH | ENGLISH

Stradivari Quartett

Since its debut in the Zurich Tonhalle in September 2007, the Stradivari Quartet has made a name for itself as an ensemble of great promise and become one of the leading Swiss string quartets. Some thirty performances a year take the Stradivari Quartet to venues all over the world. Highlights include appearances at the Wigmore Hall in London, the Metropolitan Museum in New York, the Kioi Hall in Tokyo, the Shanghai Oriental Hall and the National Center for Performing Arts in Beijing, as well as such prestigious events as the Lucerne Festival, the Bad Kissingen Summer Festival, the Rheingau Music Festival, the Rubinstein Piano Festival in Lódz, the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival and the Stradivari Festival in Cremona.
The ensemble performs a wide repertoire ranging from ground-breaking works by Joseph Haydn to contemporary compositions.
The sound ideal of the four musicians is influenced by the Alban Berg Quartet. Xiaoming Wang was a pupil of Gerhard Schulz, a long-standing member of that world-ranking quartet. Maja Weber established the Amar Quartet and brings twenty years of experience in string-quartet performance with her. Sebastian Bohren and Lech Antonio Uszynski, who were both trained in the tradition of the Russian school, complete this ensemble of four prizewinning musicians.
The Stradivari Quartet is among the few ensembles in the world performing exclusively on instruments of the famous violin maker Antonio Stradivari. Each of the four instruments has its own history and some have travelled far and wide. They are today all in the possession of the Habisreutinger Foundation and are on loan to the Stradivari Quartet.
In the near future, the Stradivari Quartet will be performing at venues like Toulouse, the Stradivari Festival in Cremona, Kings Place in London, the Rheingau Music Festival and in Lithuania. Together with the baritone Shenyang, the ensemble will perform at the major venues in China - Macau, Beijing, Shanghai and Tianjin - during a two-week tour of the country. Furthermore, the ensemble will be performing with the cellists Thomas Demenga and Maximilian Hornung, the violinist Gerhard Schulz and the violist Antoine Tamestit.
 
The instruments
 
The "Aurea" violin corresponds with Stradivari's "golden mean", and it produces an incomparable volume of sound. Built in 1710, the precious "King George" violin even survived the battle of Waterloo intact in the saddlebag of a horse. The "Gibson" of 1734 is probably the last contralto viola the great violin maker produced. This wonderful, absolutely perfect instrument is in excellent condition after 280 years. Stradivari made the "Bonamy Dobree-Suggia" cello in 1717.

Discography

© Solo Musica GmbH | Impressum | facebook | YouTube

DEUTSCH | ENGLISH

Stradivari Quartett

Das Stradivari-Quartett hat sich seit seinem Debüt in der Zürcher Tonhalle im September 2007 einen Namen als aufstrebendes Ensemble gemacht und sich zu einem der führenden Schweizer Streichquartette entwickelt. Rund dreissig Auftritte im Jahr führen das Stradivari-Quartett um die ganze Welt. Auftritte in der Wigmore Hall London, dem Metropolitan Museum New York, der Kioi Hall Tokyo, der Shanghai Oriental Hall, dem National Center for Performing Arts Beijing; sowie Einladungen zu bedeutenden Festivals wie dem Lucerne Festival, dem Kissinger Sommer, dem Rheingau Musikfestival, dem Rubinstein Piano Festival in Lodz, dem Schleswig-Holstein Musikfestival und dem Stradivari Festival in Cremona zählen dabei zu den Höhepunkten.
Das Ensemble pflegt ein breit gefächertes Repertoire. Es erstreckt sich von Werken Joseph Haydns, dem Begründer der Gattung des Streichquartetts, bis zu zeitgenössischen Kompositionen.
Das Klangideal ist geprägt von der Ästhetik des Alban Berg Quartetts. Xiaoming Wang war Schüler von Gerhard Schulz, der selbst lange Mitglied in diesem Quartett von Weltrang war. Maja Weber gründete das Amar Quartett und bringt zwanzig Jahre Erfahrung als Interpretin in einem Streichquartett mit. Zusammen mit Sebastian Bohren sowie Lech Antonio Uszinsky, die beide in Tradition der russischen Violinschule ausgebildet wurden, haben sich vier preisgekrönte Musiker in das Ensemble gefunden.
Das Stradivari-Quartett zählt zu den wenigen Ensembles der Welt, welche ausschliesslich auf Instrumenten des berühmten Geigenbauers Antonio Stradivari musizieren. Alle vier Instrumente haben eine eigene Geschichte und sind teilweise weit gereist. Heute befinden sie sich im Besitz der Habisreutinger Stiftung und werden als Leihgabe dem Stradivari Quartett zur Verfügung gestellt.
In naher Zukunft führen Konzerte das Stradivari-Quartett unter Anderem nach Toulouse, ans Stradivari Festival in Cremona, Kings Place in London, nach Litauen und ans Rheingau Musikfestival. Während einer zweiwöchigen Tournee in China tritt das Quartett zusammen mit dem Bariton Shenyang in den grössten symphonischen Sälen des Landes auf: Macau, Beijing, Shanghai und Tianjin. Des Weiteren spannt das Ensemble mit den Cellisten Thomas Demenga, Maximilian Hornung, dem Geiger Gerhard Schulz und dem Bratscher Antoine Tamestit zusammen.

Zu den Instrumenten
Die Violine Aurea ist nach Stradivaris Teilungsverhältnis, dem „Goldenem Schnitt“, angefertigt, durch welchen die Violine eine unvergleichbare Klangfülle erhält. Die kostbare King George Violine, aus dem Jahr 1710, hat sogar die Schlacht von Waterloo in der Satteltasche eines Pferdes unversehrt überlebt. Die Gibson ist die wahrscheinlich letzte Kontralto-Viola des grossen Geigenbauers aus dem Jahr 1735. Dieses wundervolle Instrument zeichnet sich durch absolute Vollkommenheit und exzellenten Zustand, auch nach 280 Jahren aus. Das Violoncello, Bonamy Dobree - Suggia genannt, hat Stradivari im Jahr 1717 angefertigt.

Discographie

© Solo Musica GmbH | Impressum | facebook | YouTube