DEUTSCH | ENGLISH

Thomas Ragossnig

Thomas Ragossnig is one of the most distinguished Austrian harpsichordists of his generation. He was born in Vienna and grew up in Basel. He encountered early music in the family home at an early age and began harpsichord tuition when he was eight. He later studied with Jörg Ewald Dähler at the Conservatory of Berne and with Jean Goverts and Rolf Junghanns (harpsichord) at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, thus acquiring knowledge of true-to-style early music interpretation and performance practice. He attained the early music diploma at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis in 1984. He went on to study with Jesper Christensen, Kenneth Gilbert, Gustav Leonhardt and Johann Sonnleitner.
 
Both as soloist and chamber musician, he has performed and made radio recordings in many European countries, in the USA and Mexico and at major international music festivals like the Ambras Palace Concerts, the International Lake Constance Festival, the Carinthian Summer, the Engadin Festival, the Halle Bach Festival and the Ludwigsburg Palace Festival. He holds annual harpsichord summer courses within the framework of the Arosa Masterclasses.
 
His rich experience in chamber music has resulted from his collaboration with renowned musicians, ensembles like the Linde Consort, the London Baroque, Les Nations and orchestras like the Chamber Orchestra of Europe under Claudio Abbado and Yehudi Menuhin.
 
He has made several recordings as chamber musician and soloist. His CD "Virtuosic Variations" (Bayer Records) was enthusiastically received by the press. Thomas Ragossnig is the initiator and for more than 25 years artistic director of the concert series "CIS Cembalomusik in der Stadt Basel", where the world's leading harpsichordists can be heard alongside young hopefuls.

Discography

© Solo Musica GmbH | Impressum | facebook | YouTube

DEUTSCH | ENGLISH

Thomas Ragossnig

Thomas Ragossnig gehört zu den profiliertesten österreichischen Cembalisten seiner Generation. In Wien geboren und in Basel aufgewachsen, kam er im Elternhaus schon früh mit alter Musik in Berührung und erhielt mit 8 Jahren den ersten Cembalo-Unterricht. Später erwarb er sich am Konservatorium Bern bei Jörg Ewald Dähler und an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis (Cembalo bei Jean Goverts und Rolf Junghanns) Kenntnisse der stilgerechten Interpretation und Aufführungspraxis alter Musik. 1984 erlangte er hier das Diplom für Alte Musik. Es folgten weitere Studien bei Jesper Christensen, Kenneth Gilbert, Gustav Leonhardt und Johann Sonnleitner.    
Konzerte und Rundfunkaufnahmen führten ihn als Solisten und Kammermusiker in viele Länder Europas, in die USA und nach Mexiko sowie zu bedeutenden internationalen Musikfestspielen (u.a. Ambraser Schlosskonzerte, Bodensee-Festival, Carinthischer Sommer, Engadiner Konzert-Wochen, Haller Bachtage, Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele). Er leitet alljährlich die Sommerkurse für Cembalo im Rahmen der Musikkurswochen Arosa.
Eine reiche kammermusikalische Erfahrung resultiert aus der Zusammenarbeit mit renommierten Musikern, mit Ensembles wie dem Linde-Consort, dem London Baroque, Les Nations sowie zahlreichen Orchestern (u.a. The Chamber Orchestra of Europe unter Claudio Abbado und Sir Yehudi Menuhin).
Seine Discographie umfasst mehrere Aufnahmen als Kammermusiker und Solist. Seine CD „Virtuose Variationen“ (Bayer Records) wurde von der Presse begeistert aufgenommen. Thomas Ragossnig ist Initiant und seit über 25 Jahren künstlerischer Leiter der Konzertreihe „CIS – Cembalomusik in der Stadt Basel“, wo man ebenso die Weltelite der Cembalisten wie auch hoffnungsvolle Talente hören kann.

Discographie

© Solo Musica GmbH | Impressum | facebook | YouTube