DEUTSCH | ENGLISH

Islam Manafov

Islam Manafov was born in Baku, the capital city of Azerbaijan, and studied at the Baku Music School during the years 1977-1981.  In 1979 he won 1st prize in the “Azerbaijan Young Pianists Competition”, attracting the attention of the musical scene.  Following this achievement, at the age of 17,  he performed S. Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No.3 under the world famous Maestro Niyazi Tagizade, to great acclaim.  In 1981 the famous pianist and pedagogue A. A. Nasedkin, Professor at the Moscow State Conservatory of P. I. Tchaikovsky and “People’s Artist” of the Russian Federation and former USSR, came to Baku for give a concert and after listening to Islam Manafov invited him to continue his education at the Moscow State Conservatory of P. I. Tchaikovsky, in his own class.  After this, Manafov went to Moscow and completed his studies under Professors A. A. Nasedkin and M. A. Fiodorova with great success. While studying at the Moscow Conservatory and after his graduation Manafov gave concerts in almost all the important cities of the former USSR and was invited to major festivals.  His performance of works by S. Prokofiev, M. Mussorgsky, A. Scriabin and S. Rachmaninoff in particular were received by critics and famous musicians with the descriptions “ingenious” and “frenzied”.

Until now, Manafov has performed in the countries of the former Soviet Union, Azerbaijan, Turkey and many countries of Europe and has also attended master-classes in Orchestral Conducting in St. Petersburg.  He has founded and conducted several orchestras, composed pieces in various forms, realized projects in connection especially with introducing music to children and young people and has won much praise in musical circles.  As a “People’s Artist” of the Republic of Azerbaijan, Manafov continues his artistic life as a pianist, conductor and composer, while working as a Professor at Baku Music Academy and Yeditepe University in Istanbul.

With this first CD, Manafov connects with his listeners through the works of the Romantic genius Chopin, with whom he has felt a close emotional tie since his childhood.  Using his immense palette of nuances he takes his listeners on a journey beyond time with Chopin’s works that may be considered his most difficult, both technically and musically, with their differing moods, at times wild, at times childish, at times rebellious and at times full of longing.

Discography

© Solo Musica GmbH | Impressum | facebook | YouTube

DEUTSCH | ENGLISH

Islam Manafov

Islam Manafov stammt aus Baku, der Hauptstadt Aserbaidschans, wo er von 1977 bis 1981 an der Musikhochschule Baku studierte. Beim "Wettbewerb junger Pianisten Aserbaidschans" wurde ihm 1979 der 1. Preis zuerkannt, womit er die Aufmerksamkeit der Musikszene auf sich lenkte. An diesen Erfolg anknüpfend, führte er im Alter von 17 Jahren Rachmaninows Klavierkonzert Nr. 3 unter der Leitung des weltbekannten Maestros Niyazi Tagizade auf und fand großen Anklang. Der berühmte Pianist und Pädagoge Aleksey Nasedkin, Professor am Staatlichen Moskauer Tschaikowski-Konservatorium und "Volkskünstler" der Russischen Föderation in der ehemaligen UdSSR, hielt sich auf einer Konzertreise in Baku auf, hörte Islam Manafov und lud ihn ein, seine Ausbildung in seiner Klasse am Tschaikowski-Konservatorium fortzusetzen. Manafov ging nach Moskau und vollendete seine Studien bei den Professoren Aleksey Nasedkin und Margareta Fedorova mit Auszeichnung. Schon während des Studiums und dann nach seinem Abschluss konzertierte Manafov in allen größeren Städten der ehemaligen Sowjetunion und wurde zu vielen wichtigen Festivals eingeladen. Seine Interpretation der Werke von Prokofjew, Mussorgski, Scriabin und insbesondere Rachmaninow wurden von der Kritik und von namhaften Musikern als "genial" und "wahnsinnig" apostrophiert.

Manafov hat in den Ländern der ehemaligen Sowjetunion, in Aserbeidschan, der Türkei und in vielen europäischen Ländern gastiert und an Meisterklassen für Orchesterdirigat in St. Petersburg teilgenommen. Er hat mehrere Orchester gegründet und geleitet, Stücke unterschiedlicher Formen komponiert und in Musikerkreisen hochgeschätzte Projekte realisiert, in denen es schwerpunktmäßig darum geht, Kinder und Jugendliche an Musik heranzuführen. Mit dem Ehrentitel "Volkskünstler" der Republik Aserbaidschan ausgezeichnet, arbeitet Manafov weiterhin als Pianist, Dirigent und Komponist und lehrt als Professor an der Musikhochschule Baku sowie an der Yeditepe Üniversitesi von Istanbul.
 Mit dieser seiner ersten CD ehrt Manafov das romantische Genie Chopin, mit dem er sich seit seiner Kindheit emotional verbunden fühlt. Er führt seine Zuhörer auf eine zeitlose Reise mit Werken Chopins, die mit ihren wechselnden Stimmungen – mal sind sie ungestüm, mal kindlich, mal rebellisch und dann wieder voller Sehnsucht – sowohl in technischer als auch in musikalischer Hinsicht als dessen schwierigste erachtet werden, und nutzt dabei die volle Palette der ihm zur Verfügung stehenden pianistischen Möglichkeiten.

Discographie

© Solo Musica GmbH | Impressum | facebook | YouTube