DEUTSCH | ENGLISH

FLAVIO MOTALLA

Born in Zurich, Switzerland, composer Flavio Motalla studied piano and composition with Boris Mersson and Gunhard Mattes. He later graduated from the University of Southern California’s advanced studies program in “Scoring for Motion Pictures and Television”, where he studied among others under tutorship of Elmer Bernstein, David Raksin and Leonard Rosenman.
 
His highly emotional and compelling compositions are rooted in the late romantic era, and are often compared to the works of Sibelius, Debussy and Rachmaninoff. However, with his love and passion for music in all its diversity, he never shies away of exploring new musical frontiers, incorporating more contemporary style elements from today’s rock/pop/electronica music, or engaging himself in projects off the beaten path.
 
Since his move to Los Angeles he has been working as a composer, arranger and orchestrator on dozens of films of any genre, style and budget. He has contributed to a multitude of projects ranging from smaller independent films (e.g. Naomi, Wonder Boys, The Shipping News) to big Hollywood productions (e.g. Spider-Man 3, Drag Me to Hell, Swordfish), and has collaborated with many top industry professionals.
 
Aside from his work in film, he also continues to write concert music. Up to now, his classical compositions include pieces for chamber and symphony orchestra, various string concertos, as well as the four vocalises for soprano and orchestra featured on this recording. He has been commissioned and written works for renowned soloists such as flutist Myriam-Hidber Dickinson, violist Karen Elaine, and most notably soprano Elena Moșuc.
 
His works have been performed internationally, among others by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, the Radio Symphony Orchestra of Bucharest, the Vidin State Philharmonic Orchestra, the San Francisco Symphony, the International Chamber Orchestra of Washington DC, and the Hollywood Symphony Orchestra.
 
He currently works and resides in Los Angeles.

Discography

© Solo Musica GmbH | Impressum | facebook | YouTube

DEUTSCH | ENGLISH

FLAVIO MOTALLA

Der aus Zürich stammende Schweizer Komponist Flavio Motalla erhielt seine Klavier- und Kompositionsausbildung durch Boris Mersson und Gunhard Mattes. Sein Nachdiplomstudium absolvierte er im Bereich der Filmkomposition an der University of Southern California, wo er unter dem Tutorat von Elmer Bernstein, David Raksin und Leonard Rosenman seine Ausbildung weiterführte.
 
Seine hoch emotionalen und leidenschaftlichen Kompositionen haben ihre Wurzeln in der Spätromantik, und werden oft mit den Werken von Sibelius, Debussy und Rachmaninoff in Verbindung gebracht. Ungeachtet der klassischen Grundausrichtung scheut er sich aber auch nicht davor, musikalisch neue Wege zu beschreiten, und dabei auch Elemente aus der Rock-, Pop- oder Electronica-Musik in seine Kompositionen einfliessen zu lassen.
 
Seit seinem Umzug nach Los Angeles hat er als Komponist, Arrangeur und Orchestrator an einer Vielzahl von Filmen unterschiedlichster Stilrichtungen und Budgets mitgewirkt. Von kleineren Independent Filmen (z.B. Naomi, Wonder Boys, The Shipping News) bis hin zu grossen Hollywood Produktionen (z.B. Spider-Man 3, Drag Me to Hell, Swordfish) ist dabei alles vertreten.
 
Trotz der Leidenschaft für den Film, schreibt er auch weiterhin Konzertwerke. Seine klassischen Kompositionen umfassen Werke für Kammer- und Sinfonieorchester, diverse Konzerte für Streicher, sowie die vier Vokalisen für Sopran und Orchester, welche die Grundlage dieser Aufnahmen bilden. Darunter befinden sich auch Auftragsarbeiten für namhafte Solisten wie die Flötistin Myriam-Hidber Dickinson, Bratschistin Karen Elaine und natürlich Sopranistin Elena MoČ™uc.
 
Seine Werke wurden auch international aufgeführt, u.a. durch das Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, dem Radio Sinfonie Orchester von Bukarest, der Philharmonie Vidin, dem San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, dem International Chamber Orchestra Washington DC sowie dem Hollywood Symphony Orchestra.
 
Flavio Motalla lebt und arbeitet derzeit in Los Angeles.

Discographie

© Solo Musica GmbH | Impressum | facebook | YouTube