DEUTSCH | ENGLISH

Title

Escapades (CD + 2 LP Vinyl)

Catalogue No.

SM 186

Release

22.04.2013





Description

The saxophone was named after the Belgian instrument maker Adolphe Sax. Whether as a solo instrument or as part of the orchestra, it seldom appears in concert halls and opera houses today. Nonetheless, before the instrument found its his true home - the world of jazz  - it was to be heard in classical music. Its first prominent appearance was in Georges Bizet's incidental music to Daudet's L'arlésienne in 1872, yet it failed to establish itself in the orchestra. There are however countless chamber works for the saxophone and many concertos for saxophone and orchestra. Three particularly brilliant and virtuosic concertos are presented on this CD.
 
John Williamsis today Hollywood's leading film composer. Escapades for saxophone and orchestra is based on the music to Catch me if you can, the 2002 comedy about a con man starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hanks. It was directed by Steven Spielberg, who in this film worked with "his" composer John Williams for the twentieth time.
Michael Nymanis one of the most dazzling figures in the post-modern music scene. Where the Bee dances was commissioned by the Bournemouth Sinfonietta and performed on July 13, 1991 during the Cheltenham Music Festival.
Andrei Eshpaiwas born in 1925 the son of a composer and folk song researcher in Russia. He wrote the Saxophone Concerto in 1985/86.
 
The New Philharmonic Orchestra of Westphalia was founded by a merger of two orchestras in the northern Ruhr area in 1996: the Westphalian Symphony Orchestra in Recklinghausen and the Philharmonic Orchestra in Gelsenkirchen.
 
The conductor Heiko Mathias Förster makes regular guest appearances with orchestras all over the world. The Israel Symphony Orchestra, the National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra, the Radio Symphony Orchestra of Berlin, the Orquesta Sinfónica del Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona and the Prague Symphony Orchestra are only a few of the ensembles Heiko Mathias Förster has conducted in recent years.

Tracklist

„Escapades” for Saxophone and Orchestra
Music: J. Williams
 
„Where the Bee dances“ for Saxophone and Orchestra
Music: Michael Nyman
 
Konzert for Saxophone and Orchestra
Music: Andrei Eshpai

© Solo Musica GmbH | Impressum | facebook | YouTube

DEUTSCH | ENGLISH

Titel

Escapades (CD + 2 LP Vinyl)

Katalog Nr.

SM 186

Veröffentlichung

22.04.2013





Produktbeschreibung

Als Orchester- oder Solo-Instrument ist es in der sinfonischen Musik für den Konzertsaal wie in der Oper eher selten vertreten – das Saxophon, benannt nach dem belgischen Instrumentenbauer Adolphe Sax. Bevor das Instrument seinen Siegeszug durch seine eigentliche Heimat – die Welt des Jazz antrat, war es schon in der Klassik zu hören. In Georges Bizets Schauspielmusik zu Daudets „L'Arlésienne“ hatte es 1872 einen ersten prominenten Auftritt. Längst gibt es ungezählte Kammermusikwerke für oder mit Beteiligung des Saxophons sowie viele Konzerte für Saxophon und Orchester. Drei besonders brillante und virtuose Konzerte sind auf dieser CD versammelt.
 
Mit John Williams kommt der heute führende und berühmteste Filmmusik-Komponist Hollywoods auf uns zu. „Escapades“ (Eskapaden) für Saxophon und Orchester basiert auf der Musik zu der 2002 verfilmten Gaunerkomödie „Catch me if you can“ mit Leonardo DiCaprio und Tom Hanks in den Hauptrollen. Regie führte Steven Spielberg, der bei diesem Film zum zwanzigsten Mal mit John Williams als „seinem“ Komponisten zusammenarbeitete.
Michael Nyman gehört zu den schillerndsten Figuren der musikalischen Postmoderne.  „Where the Bee dances“ (Wo die Biene tanzt) entstand als Auftragswerk der Bournemouth Sinfonietta und wurde am 13. Juli 1991 im Rahmen des Cheltenham Festivals aufgeführt.
Andrei Eshpaistammt aus Russland. Sein Saxophonkonzert datiert von 1985/86. Es ist einsätzig, aber stilistisch bunt, aktionsreich sowie groß und differenziert besetzt.
 
Schon in frühen Jahren entdeckte Jan Schulte-Bunert seine Leidenschaft für das Saxophon. Er wurde Bundessieger bei „Jugend musiziert“ und erhielt den ersten Preis beim Internationalen Wettbewerb in Kerkrade.
 
Die Neue Philharmonie Westfalen entstand 1996 aus der Fusion zweier Orchester des nördlichen Ruhrgebietes, dem Westfälischen Sinfonieorchester Recklinghausen und dem Philharmonischen Orchester der Stadt Gelsenkirchen.

Tracklist

„Escapades” for Saxophone and Orchestra
Music: J. Williams
 
„Where the Bee dances“ for Saxophone and Orchestra
Music: Michael Nyman
 
Konzert for Saxophone and Orchestra
Music: Andrei Eshpai

© Solo Musica GmbH | Impressum | facebook | YouTube